iPhone 2.0 and Caller ID

I have been using iPhone with 2.0 update since dev-team released Pwnage Tool 2.0 last Sunday.

So far, I’m loving it. AppStore truly revolutionized the mobile experience.

Despite all the goody goody feeling, I still have gripes about iPhone 2.0.

a. Can’t use the Installer.app till version 4.0 comes out.
b. No iLog version for iPhone 2.0, can’t manage my call log.
c. No iSMS or WeTool for iPhone 2.0, can’t forward SMS nor contacts
d. No AppSupport patch, no caller id recognition with international numbers.

I can probably live without (a) since there’s AppStore now but (b) and (c) is rather important unless Apple decides to include that in next update but I need it now.

As for (d), it is simply a huge hassle not being able to recognize caller id. Fortunately, after poking around the root folder, using DiskAid, I have found out that Apple has moved the AppSupport framework to PrivateFrameworks folder and more importantly, tweaks can be applied very easily to support caller id from unsupported countries, like mine, Malaysia.

Get hold of CyberDuck, DiskAid, WinSCP or whatever you fancy, goto folder :/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/AppSupport.framework/ and copy the PhoneNumberTemplates.plist file to your desktop. Make sure you make a backup of that file.

 

Using Property List Editor, add new entry as “my” like the pic below: (click to enlarge)

save it … replace it with the original in 

/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/AppSupport.framework/

otherwise, you can download it at me.com

reboot your iPhone… and be happy with it… 😀

30 Responses to “iPhone 2.0 and Caller ID”


  1. 1 shafiq July 26, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    Hi! Seems that you’re a Mac user from Malaysia. Are you on MyMUG (Malaysia Mac User’s Group)?

  2. 2 Insecure Mentally July 27, 2008 at 12:14 am

    Hey Shafiq,

    Yup, I’m from Malaysia. Unfortunately, I’m not on MyMUG. Which is a shame… since I’ve been using Mac since 1989… hmmm Apple since 1982… (Apple II)

  3. 3 Tay July 29, 2008 at 11:29 am

    from mas too, thanks dude…

  4. 4 Bryan August 4, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    Hi,

    I’ll be getting iphone 3g soon, an officially unlock set from NZ.

    I don’t wanna JB my phone, does this mean i cant see the caller name??

    I store all my contact in +60xxxxxxxxx format.

  5. 5 Insecure Mentally August 12, 2008 at 5:58 am

    Hey Brian,

    no you don’t have to JB your iphone, however, storing your contacts in +60xxxxxx format alone does not solve the Caller ID problem.

    Case in point, you use the dialer, dial 0123030034 (my num) will not show it’s me on the screen … and the call log list will show as 0123030034 and not Faris Hassani as it suppose to.

    JB allows you access root folder and for you to patch the relevant files and fix above problem.

    Also my PhoneFormat.plist will automagically format your contacts’ number in more readable form….

    instead of +60123030034, it will now show as +6 (012) 303-0034 or something like that … cheers

  6. 6 Mleo August 15, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    this been very helpful & now i dont need to used the workaround which store 2 type of contact in the iphone

  7. 7 Zaid August 16, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Hi Shafiq,
    I’m from Kuwait and I did that but it did not work with me maybe I did some thing not right can you plz help me ….. I have all my contacts like this +9654334616 I can call any number any where with out adding the 00 or 01 if I’m out side kuwait …. by the way the code for kuwait is 965 ….please let me know what to do.
    thank you,
    Zaid

  8. 8 Insecure Mentally August 18, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    @Zaid

    actually, this plist file was tweaked to cater only Malaysia numbers. In your case, you will need to add an entry for Kuwait

    key – kw
    item 1 –
    subitem 1 – 965
    subitem 2 = 00
    subitem 3 –
    subitem 4 – 0
    subitem 5 – 7

  9. 9 jacob August 19, 2008 at 4:37 am

    Hey! Thank you so much! Your .plist file works like a charm. I’m from msia too~!

  10. 10 Zaid August 19, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Shafiq,

    how can I add that …. I have Windows Vista.. what software I need to edit this file ??? please let me know.

    thank you and have nice day,

    Zaid

  11. 11 Insecure Mentally August 23, 2008 at 4:49 am

    @jacob : no problem… glad it helps.

    @Zaid : i’ll send you, an email containing the updated format for kuwait number in short while..

  12. 12 Timen August 23, 2008 at 9:11 am

    Hi,

    I’m making some progress: caller ID is working, but it still doesn’t format the numbers. I live in Vietnam…

    +84902436895 is how I store a mobile number, which is locally 0902436895. But Vietnam is a little more complicated. We also have new 01684311364 mobile numbers (notice an extra digit) and local landlines are 089302246 in Saigon.

    vn

    84
    00
    0
    1
    7

    84
    00
    0
    1
    8

    84
    00
    0
    1
    9

    Where is this “PhoneFormat.plist” file you speak of? Is that a different file than “PhoneNumberTemplates.plist”? Is the above correct?

  13. 13 Zaid August 23, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    thank you so much man …. thank you

  14. 14 Zaid August 24, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Can you please email it to me one more time …. something wrong with my outlook.

    thank you,

    Zaid
    Kuwait

  15. 15 Felipe August 25, 2008 at 3:11 am

    Hello there!

    I’m in Brazil and I’ve just updated and jailbroken my iPhone 2G to firmware 2.0.1, it’s neat, ok, I’m glad I did it, but the Caller ID problem really is a hassle… I didn’t know I was gonna be back at this.

    I remember I used a patch named “AppSupport Patch (1.1.4)” from iClarified and that fixed this problem on firmware 1.1.4 by forcing the iPhone to match only the last 8 digits of any number.

    I believe that’s a great solution, because it works in most contries (maybe any contry). 8 digit is usually enough to recognise a caller.

    Is there any similar solution for firmware 2.0.1? A solution that would not depend on the country we are in?

    Thanks for any feedback. Feel free to mail me if you have any comments.

    Felipe – Br

  16. 16 Insecure Mentally August 25, 2008 at 6:19 am

    @Timen : hey dewd… glad Caller ID is working for you… basically, PhoneNumberTemplates.plist is only for Caller ID and PhoneFormat.plist is specifically for visual formatting on dial pad, contacts etc…

    PhoneFormat.plist can be found in /System/Library/Frameworks/UIKit.framework/PhoneFormats

    @Felipe : unfortunately, there is still no Cydia/Installer patch for you to download. You wud have to do it manually…
    – search for/download Plist editor
    – install SSH on iPhone
    – download /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/AppSupport.framework/PhoneNumberTemplates.plist to PC/Mac …
    – Make a backup of PhoneNumberTemplates.plist …
    – Edit using Plist editor … adding Br phone number format
    – replace the file in the iPhone ..
    – Reboot … and u’re done…

  17. 17 mojtaba August 28, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    hello
    how can i find a plist editor for windows (windows Vista)???
    is any availble????

  18. 18 Brad September 1, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Hi there.

    Just like Zaid, I live in Kuwait.

    I have never dealt with plists before but I am working my way though trying to figure it out. I am currently trying to alter the UIPhoneFormats.plist file so that it works with the numbers here in Kuwait, but I am not having any luck. I am on a mac using PlistEditPro. Any help you could supply would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Brad in Kuwait

  19. 19 Hameed September 2, 2008 at 6:55 am

    Hi Faris,

    Ramadhan Mubarak. I live in Singapore. If you dont mind, could you pls suggest me how do i do it for Singapore.

    Shukran :: Hameed

  20. 20 Insecure Mentally September 2, 2008 at 7:35 am

    @mojtaba : actually there are quite a few available on the net .. you can find it here http://www.download32.com/plist-editor-software.html

    @Brad in Kuwait : PlistEditPro is an excellent tool for work with plists. UIPhoneFormats.plist is mainly for display alteration (user interface)… what you wanna change is, PhoneNumberFormats.plist that can be found in /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Appsupport.Framework/

    @Hameed : that’s interesting coz Singapore has builtin support for Caller ID. Otherwise you are referring to Phone formatting …

  21. 21 Brad September 2, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Thanks for your reply. I actually found an altered plist that works here in Kuwait at another site.

    Here is the link:
    http://www.vbulletin.kwtmac.com/showthread.php?p=6887

  22. 22 Mohammed Aslam September 3, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Could you please help me to fix the caller id for saudi arabia. our number patter is 00 966 50 1234567 or 050 1234567.

    Regards

    Aslam

  23. 23 Timen September 17, 2008 at 3:18 am

    I’m having problems getting to the root directory in iPhone version 2.1 using DiskAid 1.5. Any solutions?

  24. 24 Rakan Al-Hamad September 19, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    For Kuwait change the entry for kw in PhoneNumberTemplates.plist to this and all will work OK for ALL numbers landlines and mobiles phones.

    Enjoy.

    kw

    965
    00
    0
    0
    7

    965
    00
    0
    0
    8

  25. 25 Irwan September 29, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Hi there,

    I did what you suggested and it worked, but now the contact names don’t appear in the Recent Calls list. They appear as numbers without the “+6”. How can I go about fixing this?

    Thanks in advance.

    P/S: I keyed in contact numbers with “+6” and I’m from Malaysia too.

  26. 26 Sophorth October 22, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    Hi,

    I’m from Cambodia. I’ve a problem that my iPhone does not the regonise the SMS Sender. But for the calling is fine.

    Please help!!

    Thanks

  27. 27 Kamal November 23, 2008 at 7:36 am

    I just upgraded to 2.2 on an Singtel unlocked iPhone 3G unit and noticed that regular malaysian numbers without the +60 works out of the box!

  28. 28 Kamal November 23, 2008 at 7:48 am

    Oops, that was premature. It turns out that it still is needed.

  29. 29 nicky December 31, 2008 at 8:02 am

    hi there,

    just gotten myself a 2G iphone running on 1.1.4
    am from m’sia too and having the same problem on the caller id where if i add +6012xxxxxxx is shows the name in sms but not voice call and if i set it 012xxxxxxx it shows in voice call but not sms. I’m not really sure how do i access the folder :/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/AppSupport.framework/..
    i know this sound stupid but can you teach me step by step all the way?
    so sorry for the trouble…


  1. 1 Best Iphone 2 U » Blog Archive » iPhone 2.0 and Caller ID Trackback on July 26, 2008 at 1:11 pm

Leave a comment




Recent photos